Your network of knowledge for insurance regulation.
Follow IRES on LinkedIn Follow IRES on Twitter Learn more about IRES on YouTube Follow IRES on Google Plus

Designation Programs

State insurance departments and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) formally recognize the professional designations developed and awarded by the Insurance Regulatory Examiners Society:

  • Accredited Insurance Examiner (AIE®)
  • Certified Insurance Examiner (CIE®)
  • Certified Insurance Consumer Service Representative (CICSR®)
  • Market Conduct Management (MCM®)
  • Advanced Market Conduct Management (AMCM®)

AIE® and CIE®

The Accredited Insurance Examiner (AIE®) and Certified Insurance Examiner (CIE®) designations are awarded to IRES General Members who meet the established minimum education and employment requirements, including years of verifiable full-time insurance regulatory work and training in one of two primary fields of insurance regulation (Property & Casualty or Life & Health). Currently, more than 400 professionals hold an AIE® or CIE® designation. Learn more »


The Certified Insurance Consumer Service Representative (CICSR®) designation is designed for both regulators and industry, building on an educational commitment for insurance consumer/customer service and market regulation. An insurance professional who has been awarded a CICSR® designation has at least two years of full time experience with an insurance regulatory agency (includes regulatory contractors) or in the insurance industry. Learn more »


The Market Conduct Management (MCM®) designation program is designed to provide hands-on training for regulators and insurance industry professionals on how to efficiently and effectively manage market conduct examinations and to promote the interests of insurance regulators. It is a unique and practical program designed both for the experienced professional and those wishing to enhance their regulatory and compliance career. Learn more »


AMCM® (Advanced Market Conduct Management) is considered to be the “master degree” of MCM®. Open to IRES members who have held an MCM® designation for at least two years, the AMCM® designation is achieved through a three-hour class designed to use the techniques of the MCM® program to promote the interests of insurance regulators by combining class discussion along with the hands-on approach of case studies. Learn more »